Press Release

Sherwood College, Nainital Wins The Asian Challenge English Debate 2016

Sherwood College, Nainital bagged the 16th Asian Challenge organized here on April 23, 2016 in the White House Court this evening. They stood entitled to the Rolling Trophy and a cash prize of Rs. 5000/-. " **The Asian School, Dehradun**" emerged the first Runners—up. The other participants from "Sherwood College Nainital, St. Georges College Mussorrie, Summer Valley, Dehradun, St. Jude's School, St. Joseph's Academy, Ecole Globale International Girls' School, The Asian School, Dehradun spoke for and against the proposition-

"INDIA IS NOT READY FOR UNIFORM CIVIL CODE. WHAT WITH VARIOUS RELIGIOUS AND CASTE DIVIDES"

The event was adjudged by Dr. Anjali Nauriyal, an eminent journalist, Ms. Era Chauhan a freelance journalist and Mr. R.K.Singh, HOD Kendriya Vidyalaya, ITBP, Dehradun

The results of this Inter – School Debate were as follows:	
Best Speaker (For)	Shivang Uniyal, The Asian School, Dehradun
Best Speaker (Against)	Apoorv Gaurav Vikram Singh, Sherwood College, Nainital
Best Rebuttal (For)	Ojasvita Negi, St. Joseph's Academy, Dehradun
Best Rebuttal (Against)	Apoorv Gaurav Vikram Singh, Sherwood College, Nainital
Best Team	Sherwood College, Nainital

Earlier the Chief Guest for the occasion Mr. Madanjeet Singh Juneja, Vice President of The Asian School, Mr. A.K.Das, The Principal of The Asian School and the Judges lit the lamp and gave this occasion an auspicious beginning.

Speaking on the occasion Mr. A.K.Das, the Principal of The Asian School congratulated the winners and said that the topic was quite exciting and was eloquently dealt with by the students and the debate this evening was a combination of preparation and extempore.

Mr. A.K.Das The Principal gave away the prizes to the winners. Also present on the occasion were Mr. Gagan Jyot Juneja Director of The Asian School ,Mrs. Geeta Das, Mr Anant V.D.Thapliyal Vice—Principal, Mr. Mukesh Nangia, Head Middle School, Mrs. Kalpana Grover Headmistress, the entire school staff, guests and members of the press.

The event ended with the vote of thanks proposed by Shreya Yadav.
